MANUAL –(8)

Statement of Boards / Councils / Committees and other Bodies constituted

(Please see section A (1)(b)(viii) of Right to information Act, 2005)

(i) The State Transport Authority consists of the following Officers/ Public representative:-

Tvl.

1.	Chandra Mohan, I.A.S, Chief Secretary, Puducherry	CHAIRMAN
2.	S.M.Khannaji, Special Secretary to Govt.(Transport)	MEMBER
3.	A. S. Khan, I.P.S., Director General of Police	MEMBER
4.	R. Thiruvengadam, Non-Official Member	MEMBER
5.	T.Karikalan, Transport Commissioner	SECRETARY

Thiru A. Vincent Rayar, Deputy Transport Commissioner and Thiru R.Vijayakumar, Regional Transport Officer are the Assistant Secretary – I and II respectively.

 (ii) Road Safety Council constituted vide G.O.Ms.No.7/2007-TD dt.10.03.2008 -(Enclosed)

GOVERNMENT OF PUDUCHERRY

Abstract

Transport – Constitution of the Road Safety Council for the Transport Department as per the provisions of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 – Orders – Issued.

CHIEF SECRETARIAT (T	(RANSPORT)
----------------------	------------

G.O.Ms.No. 7/ 2007-TD

Puducherry, dated the 10.03.2008

ORDER: Note No. 35/TD/RTO/PA/2004, dated 23-10-2007 of the Transport Commissioner, Puducherry

-000-

The following notification shall be published in the Official Gazette of Puducherry:-

NOTIFICATION

In exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (2) of Section 215 of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 (Central act No. 59 of 1988), the Lieutenant-Governor, Puducherry is pleased to approve and constitute the "Puducherry Road Safety Council" in the road transport sector in the Union Territory of Puducherry, with the following Official/non-Official members with immediate effect:-

(1) The Hon'ble Chief Minister

(Minister in-charge of Home and Public Works), Puducherry		Chairman
(2) The Hon'ble Minister for Transport, Puducherry		Member
(3) The Hon'ble Minister for Local Administration, Puducherry		Member
(4) The Chief Secretary to Government-cum-		Member
Chairman, STA, Puducherry		
(5) The Secretary to Government, PWD , Puducherry		Member
(6) The Secretary to Government, LAD, Puducherry		Member
(7) The Secretary to Government, Transport & Education, Puducherry		Member
(8) Inspector General of Police, Puducherry		Member
(9) The Superintendent of Police (Traffic), Puducherry		Member
(10)The Superintending Engineer, Electricity Department, Puducherry		. Member
(11) The Chief Engineer, PWD, Puducherry		. Member
(12) The Director, Local Administration Department, Puducherry		. Member
(13) The Managing Director, PRTC, Puducherry		. Member
 (14) One Representative of each Association of Bus Owners in Pondicherry (15) One Representative of each Association of Goods Carriage Owner in Puducherry (16) One Representative of each Association of Contract Carriage Owner 	S	Non-Official Member Non-Official Member
in Puducherry		Non-Official Member
(17) One Representative of each Association of Auto Rickshaw Owner in Puducherry(18) One Representative of each Association of Vikram-3 Wheel Owner	N	Non-Official Member
in Puducherry	N	on-Official Member
 (19) One Representative of each Association of Bijilli-3 Wheel Owner in Puducherry (20) President, Voice of Consumer, No.2/47, Cuddalore Road, 		on-Official Member
Mudaliarpet, Puducherry-4	No	n-Official Member

(21) One Representative each of the two Non-Government Organisations

to be nominated by the Government	Non-Official Member
(22) Three Prominent persons of the General Public to be nominated	
by the Government	Non-Official Member
(23) The Transport Commissioner, Puducherry	Member-Secretary

2. The Council shall perform the following functions, viz.,:-

- to advise the Government on all matters pertaining to planning and co-ordination of policies, practices and standards of safety in the road transport sector;
- (ii) to formulate and recommend road safety programmes to the Government for implementation by Road Safety Organisation as also other state agencies in charge of Road transport;
- (iii) to suggest areas for research and development, to improve safety aspects in the road transport sector including maintenance of statistics of road accidents and their analysis; and
- (iv) to generally oversee and monitor through the Road Safety Cell, the Road Safety measures undertaken by the Road Safety Organisation/Agencies.
- 3. The Non-official Members shall hold office for a period of two years.
- 4. The Council shall decide the procedure and methodology to be adopted for its functioning.
- 5. The Council shall meet ordinarily once in six months.

//BY ORDER OF THE LIEUTENANT-GOVERNOR//

(S.M. KHANNAJI) TRANSPORT COMMISSIONER -cum-ADDITIONAL SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT

To The Director, Directorate of Stationery & Printing, Puducherry.

.... With a request to publish the said notification in next issue of the Official Gazette and to supply 100 copies thereof to this department for reference and record.

Copy to:

- 1. The Chairman and Members of the Road Safety Council
- 2. The Jt. Secretary to Government of India, Ministry of Surface Transport, New Delhi.
- 3. The Central Records Branch.
- 4. Order/spare.